Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission

The Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC ) was established by the Convention for the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean (The Convention) which entered into force on June 19, 2004. The United States ratified the Convention in 2007 and enacted the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Convention Implementation Act the same year to domestically implement the Convention. The objective of the Convention is to ensure, through effective management, the long-term conservation and sustainable use of highly migratory fish stocks in the western and central Pacific Ocean in accordance with the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the 1995 UN Fish Stocks Agreement . The Convention establishes a governing body known as the Commission, which is comprised of representatives from countries across coastal and fishing nations. The Commission works to create conservation and management measures, developed under the terms of the Convention, that apply to waters within the Convention Area and to the highly migratory fish stocks (i.e. tunas, billfish, marlin) throughout their range.

The Convention applies to waters of the WCPO including areas around Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands and U.S. Pacific remote island areas (Wake, Palmyra, Kingman, Jarvis, Howland and Baker), and encompasses the operational area of significant U.S. purse seine, longline, albacore troll, and local HMS fisheries.


Australia, China, Canada, Cook Islands, European Union, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, Japan, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Chinese Taipei, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States of America, Vanuatu

Participating Territories

American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, French Polynesia, Guam, New Caledonia, Tokelau, Wallis and Futuna

Cooperating Non-Members

Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Liberia, Thailand, Vietnam

Subsidiary Bodies of the Commission:

Scientific Committee
Technical and Compliance Committee
Northern Committee