Sustainable Fisheries Division

National Saltwater Angler Registry

Register Now
For more information or to register, visit:

Hawaii's recreational fishermen are required by law to sign up with the National Saltwater Angler Registry. Registration is valid for one year from the date it is issued,
and anglers must register each year.

The registry will improve data collection by creating a “phone book” of saltwater fishermen. NOAA Fisheries Service will use the phone book to ask fishermen about their catches and fishing effort, and will include saltwater fishermen in the policy-making process. 

The National Saltwater Angler Registry is part of the Marine Recreational Information Program, or MRIP. MRIP is a data collection and analysis program designed to ensure the long-term sustainability of America’s fisheries and the health of our oceans.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who needs to register?
Hawaii fishermen who fish or spearfish more than 3 miles from shore (Federal waters) must register. An online questionnaire is available to help determine whether you need to register in the National Saltwater Angler Registry.

Who is exempt?
You do not need to register if you meet the following criteria:

  • Only fish in freshwater;
  • Are under 16 years old;
  • Fish only on licensed charter boats;
  • Fish only within 3 miles from shore;
  • Hold a valid Hawaii commercial marine license or federal Main Hawaiian Island non-commercial bottomfish permit; or
  • Are an out-of-state fisherman already registered in the National Saltwater Angler Registry.

How do I register?
Go to, or call toll-free 1-888-674-7411. Operators are available 7 days a week from 4:00 am to Midnight (EST). 

You will need to provide your name, date of birth, address, and telephone number. NOAA will assign a registration number and mail you a registration card within 30 days.

Is there a fee to register?
There is an annual $15 fee to register. Indigenous fishermen must register, but are not required to pay a fee.

Must I register every year?
Yes. Your registration is valid for one year from the date that it is issued.